All About Perth – Perth Education

Default Cover - Edit your Profile to add your own

Perth Education

Perth is home to four public universities, and one private university: the University of Western Australia, Murdoch University, Curtin University of Technology, Edith Cowan University, and the University of Notre Dame respectively.

The University of Western Australia, which was founded in 1911, is renowned as one of Australia’s leading research institutions.

The university’s monumental neo-classical architecture, most of which is carved from white limestone, is a notable tourist destination in the city. Curtin University of Technology is Western Australia’s largest university, and was known from its founding in 1966 until 1986 as the Western Australian Institute of Technology (WAIT).

Murdoch University was created from land held by UWA in the late 1970s. Edith Cowan University was established in the early 1990s to cope with tertiary education needs in the north west metropolitan area of Perth. The University of Notre Dame was established in 1990 and was the first Catholic university in Australia.

  • Let's Help You Get Down Under!
    Join Our Free Newsletter
    Join the 34,000 members who receive our Free Tips , News and Emigration Resources direct to their inbox.
    Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.

    Leave a Reply

    Notify of