Changes to the Skilled Occupations List effective 15 May

Getting Down Under Australia

Skilled Occupation List Changes - Australia SOLChanges to the Skilled Occupations List (SOL) have been made by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) in consultation with the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations (DEEWR).

The Skilled Occupations List (SOL) lists all occupations that the Government considers to be a skilled profession for purposes of migration to Australia. Applicants for a General Skilled Migration visa must nominate a skilled occupation listed on the SOL in order to gain points towards their Australian visa application.

They must also have their nominated skills assessed by an approved assessing body before their application will be accepted by DIAC.

The Government periodically reviews the SOL so that it remains reflective of the Australian economy, and this week, after consultation with DEEWR, DIAC have released a revised version of the SOL to go live on 15 May 2009.

While no occupations have been removed or added from the SOL, the Government has changed the assessing requirements for occupations. Now, Vocational Education and Training Assessment Services (VETASSESS) can act as a co-assessing authority alongside the Trades Recognition Authority (TRA) for all countries except “recognised countries” for the following occupations:

australian skills in demandPLEASE NOTE THIS OCCUPATIONS LIST REFERENCED BELOW HAS BEEN REPLACED AND IS NO LONGER VALID – For the most current list of Australian occupations in demand. Please CLICK HERE.

4311-11 General Electrician
4431-11 General Plumber
4312-11 Refrigeration and Air-conditioning Mechanic
4211-11 Motor Mechanic
4411-11 Carpenter and Joiner
4411-13 Carpenter
4411-15 Joiner
4313-11 Electrical Powerline Tradesperson
4313-13 Cable Jointer
4414-11 Bricklayer
4311-01 Supervisor, Electricians
4312-01 Supervisor, Plumbers
4411-01 Supervisor, Carpentry and Joinery Tradespersons
4313-01 Supervisor, Electrical Distribution Tradespersons
4414-01 Supervisor, Bricklayers
4211-01 Supervisor, Motor Mechanics

“Recognised Countries” are UK, India, Sri Lanka, South Africa and the Philippines.

Effectively, this means that skilled applicants in the above trades, who are not residents of any recognised country, now have another option to TRA to have their skills assessed in order to complete their Australian visa application.

It is not clear whether VETASSESS has plans to conduct practical assessments in any other country but they may consider doing so, depending on demand.

Source :

  • Let's Help You Get Down Under!
    Join Our Free Newsletter
    Join the 34,000 members who receive our Free Tips , News and Emigration Resources direct to their inbox.
    Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.

    Leave a Reply

    0 Comment threads
    0 Thread replies
    Most reacted comment
    Hottest comment thread
    0 Comment authors
    Recent comment authors
    newest oldest most voted
    Notify of