(@mark)
Illustrious Member Admin

Hi all, creating a sticky topic as we see a lot of new threads on the lines of:

• I am a bricklayer looking for sponsorship
  • I am a quantity surveyor looking for sponsorship
  • I am a chef looking for sponsorship
  • I am a.....

and the list goes on.

There are a few key points to remember when it comes to sponsored visa opportunities.

1. Only occupations considered in demand qualify for 482 visa sponsorship.
  2. Australian employers need to be advertising qualifying vacancies where they are willing to offer sponsorship.
  3. You need to apply for the job and be successful in being selected.

Now let's go through each of these main points.

1, Only occupations considered in demand qualify for 482 visa sponsorship.

Australia has a number of skilled occupations lists and to have an occupation that qualifies for sponsorship; you need to have an occupation on one of these lists. The two main lists are the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) and the Short Term Skilled Occupations List (STSOL). Occupations on the MLTSS may eventually enable you to obtain permanent residency here in Australia. Occupations on the STSOL will enable you to live and work in Australia for a period of between 2 and 4 years. The current lists can be found here:

2, Australian employers need to be advertising vacancies where they are willing to offer sponsorship.

Next, you need to find a job where the employer is willing to offer sponsorship. There are numerous job websites here in Australia, although the majority target people who are already in Australia with a legal right to work.

Employers can only offer sponsorship after they have advertised the job locally for 30 days and have been unable to identify a resource locally. This significantly reduces the number of opportunities.