No longer skilled t...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

No longer skilled trade! Help :)  

(@willspencer17)
Active Member Registered
Topic starter  

Hello everyone!  I am a certified Electrician in Canada and I have not yet applied for a work/travel visa.  I shouldn’t have a problem getting into your beautiful country! The issue arises with my girl friend.  She’s 33 and has already taken advantage of the 1 year work/travel visa.  She did her registered massage therapy here in Canada in hopes of us being able to both apply for the skilled trades visa application but OF COURSE they removed it from the list as soon as she graduated (2019).  Needless to say, we are stumped.  Any idea how we can get my girlfriend into the country? Anything helps.  Thanks to you all!!

(@willspencer17)
Active Member Registered
Topic starter  

Update. I know she can apply for a student visa and/or a visitor visa.  We are looking for a way in so that she can work full time.  Preferably without having to go to school again! Thanks.  

ReplyQuote
Mark
 Mark
(@mark)
Illustrious Member Admin

Hi mate and welcome! 🖐️ 

Which Visa type, was it the Working Holiday (417 Visa)? 

There is an option to apply for a second 417 Visa if this is the case though she may have needed to have worked in a specified industry to qualify. More info here.

Second Working Holiday visa

This visa lets people 18 to 30 years old (inclusive) - and Canadian, French and Irish citizens 18 to 35 years old (inclusive) - who currently hold, or who have held, a Working Holiday visa, have a second working holiday in Australia.
    • ​​​​​​​You must have a passport from an eligible country or jurisdiction
    • You can do any kind of work while you are here​
    • You must have completed 3 months of specified subclass 417 work​​​
  • You can apply for a third Working Holiday visa if you meet certain eligibility criteria

Details of the specified work she would need to qualify can be found here.

Does this help? 

Cheers