Share:

Seeking advice  

RSS
(@dharshad)
Active Member Registered

Hi

I am looking to migrate to Australia to live and work.

I am currently working in Canada under a temporary work permit as an engineer involved in extracting natural gas from the earth. I have been in this field since 2006 and I have some work experience around the world. I also worked for about 4.5 years in Australia for a Brisbane based oil and gas producer and left to Canada in November 2014.

I notice that Petroleum Engineering (category under which my skills would apply) is no longer listed in the 2016-2017 SOL. Although a Chemical Engineer by qualification, I have only worked in upstream petroleum engineering in oil and gas projects around the world.

I was wondering if I should still go ahead and get Engineers Australia to assess my skills, as I need to nominate an occupation under the SOL to be assessed under.

Thank you for your input.

Posted : May 18, 2016 9:51 am
Mark
 Mark
(@mark)
Illustrious Member Admin

Hi there :)

Yes I would. Keep in mind the current SOL is still valid (although its only valid until the end of June 2016)!

The sooner you do this the better however also keep in mind that if you have historical experience, you could also use this to nominate an alternative role.

Key thing is that your bale to demonstrate your competency and experience in that role.

All the best

Mark

Community Manager
Getting Down Under

ReplyQuote
Posted : May 19, 2016 4:52 pm
(@dharshad)
Active Member Registered

Hi Mark

Thanks for your reply. Some comments:

a. If I nominate another role, will I not be limited to jobs under that role? For example, I would like to nominate Engineering Manager under the SOL but this I realize has to be verified by AIM and I have no documented experience in this role.