Share:

[Solved] dama  

RSS
(@cknox1)
New Member Registered

hi
is age a factor in the application, i am 50 and obviously dont want to start the process if my age means i wouldnt be considered
thank you
chris knox

Posted : February 8, 2019 1:46 am
Topic Tags
Mark
 Mark
(@mark)
Illustrious Member Admin

Hi Chris,unfortunately, if you are looking to apply under one of the skilled visas (using your occupation as a basis for your application) then your current age will impact your ability to qualify I'm afraid.

Please see here for more information:

https://gettingdownunder.com/australia-skilled-visa-age-threshold-lowered/

Best wishes

Mark

Community Manager
Getting Down Under

ReplyQuote
Posted : February 9, 2019 12:13 am
(@pip-breen)
New Member Registered

Hi. I’m a similar age. I am a practice manager for a large law firm in uk and would not meet skilled criteria. 

My partner is NZ citizen. He’s lived in Aus since before 2010. We were introduced in 2016. Met up properly in 2017 and have been in an exclusive committed relationship ever since. Since 2018 we’ve  spent $20k on flights back and forth visiting each other, visiting family in both uk, NZ and Aus. We’ve decided to start the de facto process this year and after our two week holiday in NZ in September I will return briefly to uk then out to Aus for Christmas and a further two months.  My Uk employer is happy for me to  work remotely for two months so that we can start to find rented accommodation together and start proving our life together. I have no clue which visa to apply for. Neither of us want to get married at this stage. When I realised in  November what the process entailed for proof of de facto  I started to keep everything from our joint bank account details to money transfer receipts. Can I make a partner application in December even though we won’t have lived together long enough.