Notifications
Clear all

Looking for advice  

RSS
Tyla Martin
(@tyla-martin)
New Member Registered

Hi,

I am a 22 year old female looking to move to Australia in the near future. I have baby twins and looking to relocate to potentially give them a better life and opportunities than what they would receive in the UK.

i have a degree in law with criminology and 2 years experience of working for a personal injury solicitor firm as a paralegal. Is there any advice you can give me on getting started, what visas I would need etc and anything else I should be aware of to make my dream become a reality.

Thank you!

Posted : September 21, 2020 6:50 pm
Mark
 Mark
(@mark)
Illustrious Member Admin

Welcome to getting down under Tyla! 😊 

OK, for starters you will need an occupation on one of the Australian Occupations Lists. We have the current lists available here.

From a legal background. the role Solicitor is on the Medium to long term occupations list which means if you were to apply under this occupation, you could apply for one of the visas that offer you PR, specifically the Visa called the Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 189). Official info on this visa class is here.

To see if you have the skills required to be recognised in Australia, you will need to meet the criteria as defined under ANZSCO 271311. ANZSCO is an acronym of the term; Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupationand you can find the description for solicitor here: Solicitor – ANZSCO 271311. To confirm you have the skills, your skills will need to be assessed by SLAA (a legal admissions authority of a State or Territory)