Share:

Visa 491 - Family sponsorship - QLD - Clinical Coder  

RSS
(@yvandib)
Active Member Registered

Hello Mark,

Hope you can shed some light as all the information online is just so overwhelming. My husband and I are in the process of actively trying to get to Australia. 

At first we were considering TSS (I am a clinical coder which is on the ROL) but my sister is a citizen and we are now comparing the TSS to the new 491 visa.

With the TSS visa I would need to find a job first and clinical coding is so specialized, that there are not that many jobs. Chances of employing a foreigner is not that good. I also would need to do a few australian coding courses which would cost me $3500 AUD, before I would even be considered for a job.

With the 491 visa, I would need to get a(n) expensive skills assessment through Vetassess (which I dont require for above option) but then I would not need to fork out the cost of the course, as I would be getting in on my clinical coding experience but would not necessarily end up doing that.

My questions are - which one of the above options do you think is better and why?

I know processing times for the 491 is longer, but may be prioritized because I am family sponsored? 

If I am family sponsored, how long do you think I am likely to wait for an invitation to apply after submitting an EOI? I could also go the route of state nominated but I think that family sponsorship is the better way to go.

My sister does live in a regional area, and so will we.

Any feedback or advice would be greatly appreciated.

I am 35, and from South Africa. Been in Australia six times on visitors visas to see my family, the longest stay was 4 months. I have never had any problems with my visitors visas.

Thanks so much!

Posted : November 18, 2019 6:33 pm
Mark
 Mark
(@mark)
Illustrious Member Admin

Hi there @yvandib and welcome 😊 

Posted by: @yvandib

My questions are - which one of the above options do you think is better and why?