Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Visa confusion & advice  

RSS
(@elliejoyce)
New Member Registered

Hi!

My boyfriend and I are in need or some advice regarding visas for moving to Perth, Australia. In brief we applied and were successful for a working holiday visa in 2018 and moved to Perth for 7 months starting October 2018. We are now back in the UK and wanting to go back on more of a full term basis. We were unable to return before our first year working holiday expired (It expired October 2019) so were not eligible to qualify for the second year extension.

My partner is a qualified chef with 8 years experience which I believe is currently on the trade list for Australia so hoping this will be in our favour.

Regarding myself I have a degree in hospitality & tourism management and have lots of customer service experience but unsure whether my trade is amongst the recognised list. Would it be possible for me to get a visa as a result of my boyfriend’s skill?

Any advice on which type of visa would suit our situation would be gratefully appreciated as currently feeling like it’s a mindfield.

Thank you in advance,
Ellie & Kieran

Posted : January 18, 2020 9:40 pm
Mark
 Mark
(@mark)
Illustrious Member Admin

Hi Ellie and Kieran 🖐️ 

Chef is indeed on the current MLTSSLwhich means that your boyfriend would be able to qualify for Australian PR (if he meets all of the criteria required).

You may be able to join your boyfriend as a de facto partner, assuming you have been together long enough and can provide evidence of your relationship. See this article for more on this subject.

https://gettingdownunder.com/australian-de-facto-visa-relationship-proof/

The first step for your boyfriend will be to see how many points he qualifies for.  You can calculate your points using the guide available here: Australian Visa Points Calculator