Share:
Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] When to submit EOI - Secondary school teacher, 189 visa  

Ben
(@ben-h)
New Member Registered
Topic starter  

Hi everyone, I was hoping someone might be able to help me out a little. 

I am in the (long, drawn-out) process of gathering all of my and my partner's documentation to apply for PR (189 or 190).

I am a secondary school teacher, my partner is a journalist. I have had my qualifications approved and had my work experience verified, I am 38 (very nearly 39) and have proficient English (7.5 on the ielts writing grrr!). All in all at present I have 70 points if I lodge my EOI now and state that I am single rather than in a de facto relationship (with the view of organizing a partner visa once I have the PR, I'm not sure if this is a terrible idea or not). My partner is waiting on her assessment from vetassess (submitted at the beginning of October) and was extremely close to getting the English requirement in the ielts (5.5 in the writing GRRRRR!)

I was hoping to be nominated and get the extra 5 points that way but it seems that I didn't keep up with the changes that took place last year with the extra eligibility requirements that were put in place (teachers taken off state lists and onshore residency requirements introduced). That was a bit of a revelation for me though so if anyone knows more about 190 nominations and perhaps can offer some light at the end of the tunnel I would love to hear from them! 

I also speak Spanish and will take the CCL test but the next available date is in March (I only just found out that the wait for these tests is so long, I really wish they published that info more prominently as I was hoping to get the test within a few days).